The Aviation Non-Destructive Inspection Technician works for a regional or national air carrier, an approved maintenance organization (AMO), or an approved (Non-Destructive Inspection) NDI maintenance organization, performs specific inspections of aircraft structures, engines and components, to determine serviceability in accordance with applicable codes, specifications and standards for the following: liquid penetrant, magnetic particle, eddy current, ultrasonics and radiography. In addition, specialty inspections such as acoustic emissions, vibration analysis, infrared thermography and laser shearography can be performed.

The NDI Technician works not only with other Non-Destructive Inspection Technicians but also with other airline trades, including structural repair technicians, gas turbine repair and overhaul technicians, welders, machinists, mechanical technicians, electrical technicians, maintenance technicians, avionics technicians, interior refinishers, electroplaters, painters and reciprocating engine and propeller technicians.

The NDI Technician does not certify the airworthiness of the aircraft but does certify the serviceability of tested parts under the AMO authority and documents inspections performed and the disposition of parts.

The NDI Technician may employ other methods that can determine the acceptability or suitability for intended service of a material, part, component, subsystem, or system. New methods may be addressed by the CCAA National Standing Trade Advisory Committee.

Certification Requirements

To qualify for certification with CCAA, the applicant must possess the necessary knowledge and skills and have performed the specified mandatory tasks. Also, the applicant must have acquired the minimum required work experience to qualify for the Canadian General Standards Board (CGSB) Level II for each method for which the individual is seeking certification.

CCAA will apply credit for completion of a CCAA accredited Aircraft Non-destructive Inspection Technician course as part of the minimum requirements on a month by month basis. Following are the three (3) categories under which an applicant who is seeking certification with CCAA may qualify and the required elements that must be completed in addition to the requirements identified above.

1 – Any technician who is CGSB Level II and working in an AMO must have an approved evaluator sign all sub-tasks pertinent to the method for which the individual is seeking qualification.

2 – A technician who is CGSB Level II (non-aircraft) must have an approved Evaluator sign the following sub-tasks for the method for which the individual is seeking qualification:
a) Task 6.0 – Sub-tasks: 6.08, 6.10, 6.11 and 6.13
b) Task 7.0 – Sub-tasks: 7.08, 7.11, 7.12 and 7.14
c) Task 8.0 – Sub-tasks: 8.05, 8.08, 8.09, 8.11, 8.12 and 8.14
d) Task 9.0 – Sub-tasks: 9.10, 9.12, 9.13 and 9.15
e) Task 10.0 – Sub-tasks: 10.12, 10.14, 10.15 and 10.17

3 – An aircraft technician with no NDI experience and/or a student must have an approved Evaluator sign all sub-tasks for the method for which the individual is seeking qualification. There are five (5) methods applicable to this occupation, they are as follows:

  • Liquid Penetrant
  • Magnetic Particle
  • Eddy Current
  • Ultrasonics
  • Radiography

The tasks in the logbook were made as generic as possible to accommodate the largest amount of work environments and equipment / tools but do not necessarily cover all tasks performed by individuals.

Tasks Common to Most Aircraft Non-Destructive Inspection Technician
(note that sub-tasks for each task are not shown below)

Block A — Safety
Task 1 – Demonstrates Safe Working Practices and Techniques

Block B — Pre-Inspection and Quality Control
Task 2 – Prepares Parts, Components and Assemblies for Inspections
Task 3 – Develops Inspection Techniques and Procedures
Task 4 – Performs Quality Control Checks of Instrumentation and Materials
Task 5 – Performs Visual and Assisted Visual Inspections

Block C — Non-Destructive Inspections
Task 6 – Performs Liquid Penetrant Inspection
Task 7 – Performs Magnetic Particle Inspection
Task 8 – Performs Eddy Current Inspection
Task 9 – Performs Ultrasonic Inspection
Task 10 – Performs Radiographic Inspection

Block D — Specialized Non-Destruction Inspections
Task 11 – Performs Specialty Inspections